Good Times…Noodle Salad

Good times…noodle salad.
-Melvin Udall
{Jack Nicolson’s character in As Good as it Gets}

Every time I think of noodle salad, I think of this quote.

What dish is perfect for a fourth of July potluck? (Or any potluck for that matter) This recipe! When I was trying to think of something quick and easy to make for a potluck on the 4th, this line came into my head…”Stuck a feather in his hat and called it macaroni.” Perfect! I’ll make macaroni salad. Except I didn’t have any macaroni in my pantry, so I grabbed some tricolor cavatappi to stand in. Whatever pasta you use, it’s still gonna be noodle salad. Mmmmm…what a classic! Also, in the old-fashioned noodle salad we all know and love, recipes typically include American cheese, cut into cubes. Because I was missing this ingredient in my fridge, I just omitted it. No one noticed the noodle salad was missing anything, and it was gobbled up as usual.

Ingredients:
1 bag/box noodles of choice such as macaroni, cavatappi or farfalle
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup sour cream
1 {12oz} bag frozen peas, cooked and cooled
1/4 cup purple onion, diced
1 small package American cheese {like Velveeta}, cut into small cubes
2 teaspoons sugar
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
Cook noodles to al dente, strain and run under cold water to stop cooking and cool. Place in a large bowl and place in the refrigerator to cool. When pasta is cold add the remaining ingredients and mix to combine thoroughly. Serve cold.

Leave a Reply

