Bacon-Wrapped, Grilled Apricots with Fresh Basil

One time my dad told me that when my parents were considering names for me he wanted me to name me Apricot. Thank God my mom won that battle! They say your name has a hand in what kind of personality you’ll have. I can’t imagine how much more annoying I would be than I already am if I had a name as “peachy” as Apricot. Alas, I was named after my mother’s two sisters. Yay!!!

Although I would not want the name, these apricots are awesome! I’ve made them for several events I have catered and they are always a huge hit. Also, although I used apricots, I think any stone fruit would be amazing. I hope you enjoy this summer time treat!

Ingredients:
6 apricots, discard the seeds and quartered
24 basil leaves
12 pieces bacon, each cut in half to make 24 smaller pieces

Directions:
Preheat grill. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. When the grill is ready place each apricot half on the grill for about 1-2 minutes per side. Remove, place a basil leaf on each apricot and set aside. Par cook bacon until almost cooked through, but still pliable. While the bacon is still warm, wrap a piece around each apricot and secure with a toothpick. Just before serving, heat them in the oven just until the bacon has crisped up. You can serve them warm, but they are also good at room temperature, so they are perfect for a cocktail party in which they might not be eaten immediately.

Leave a Reply

