Tropical Chicken & Pineapple Stuffed Peppers

I love having girl’s night! I love cooking for my friends, having girl talk and giggling non-stop. Not to mention tossing back a bottle of wine sipping a small nip of wine while doing so…It always adds to the fun!

I was having a few gal pals over for dinner and I wanted to make something fun for us to share. I also needed to use some peppers I had in my vegetable drawer that were beckoning me to use them. To add some special flare to the traditional stuffed pepper I thought I would make them sort of tropical-ish. Perfection! They were a smash.

Also, if you’ve ever had stuffed peppers, you know they can be deceiving to the eye. Although it’s just a pepper filled with yumminess, they are often quite a bit of food. This time when I made them I cut them in half instead of cutting off the top. It was plenty of food…especially if you’re eating more than just the pepper. A simple salad is a perfect companion to this dish.

Ingredients:

For the Chicken:
2 chicken breasts
3/4 cups Apricot preserves {or pineapple, orange or peach}
1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
1 Tablespoon water
1/2 white onion, diced
1 garlic clove, minced
Salt and Pepper
Paprika

For the Peppers:
2 bell peppers {I recommend using red or yellow…they’re sweeter}
2 cups cooked orzo
2 cups pineapple pico de gallo {small container of prepared pineapple pico from the produce section…or you could just use a can of crushed pineapple and a little cilantro}
1/4 cup of the apricot sauce
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 heaping cup of almonds, chopped and toasted slightly
Salt and Pepper

Directions:

For the Chicken:
In a small sauce pan stir together the preserves, teriyaki sauce and water and cook on medium heat. Season the chicken with salt, pepper and paprika. Add to the sauce and bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook for 25 minutes. Remove chicken from the sauce, let cool and chop. Add to a large mixing bowl with about 1/4 cup of the apricot-teriyaki sauce and set aside.

For the Peppers:
In the mixing bowl with the chicken add the orzo, pineapple pico, sunflower seeds, almonds and salt and pepper to taste. Cut the peppers vertically, discard the stem, seeds and scoop out the veins. Lay them in a dish, stuff them with the filling and cover with foil. Bake for 30 minutes on 425 degrees. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

