Chipotle Pepitas & Peanuts

Chipotle Nuts

I know you may be thinking… what’s the deal with such a “summer-y post”? Well, it’s hot in Texas today. 80 degrees with 62% humidity in Houston. I’m seriously considering jumping into that swimming pool those nuts are chillin’ next to. And they’re so spicy, I may as well pop open a can of cold cerveza! If I have to ;)

I don’t know about you, but there is always a jar of leftover chipotles in adobo sauce in my fridge. I’m sure there are recipes that call for a whole can of this stuff, just no recipe I know.

I was thinking tossing some nuts in a dab of adobo and roasting them up in the oven would be great. Plus nuts are one of the treats I can have while low-carbing it, so why not try? I was right! I will warn you, however, they are SPICY! So, have the cold cerveza ready! In fact, if you happen to own a bar…serve these as a free snack to all your customers. They are spicy and salty. A perfect combination to be sure they will order more than one libation, hehehe.

Ingredients:
1 cup pumpkin seeds
1 cup peanuts
1/4 cup Tablespoons cilantro, finely chopped {about 1/2 of a bunch}
2 Tablespoons adobo sauce
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
{*1 teaspoon salt…read notes below}

Directions:
Toss all ingredients together and roast in a 325 degree oven for 20 minutes, stirring after 10 minutes.

*I used raw peanuts because I loved their rich, bold flavor so I needed to add salt. However, after roasting, the flavor I loved originally slighty overwhelmed the other flavors of this mix. I would recommend using canned, salted peanuts for this recipe and omitting the salt from the ingredients.

Chipotle Nuts

Leave a Reply

