Apple Tots

Apple Tots with Gruyere Cheese

Sometimes I have a brain ping…a stroke of genius flooding in from out of the blue. I have to write them down though because as quickly as they popped in, they jump back out very shortly like a dream that’s so vivid at the time of snapping out of a slumber and then thirty minutes later is hardly remembered. I hate it when it happens too. I’ll be trying to remember an awesome idea  for a recipe and then I’ll be damned if I can’t even remember what it was.

Anyway, this is how the idea for apple tots came to me. It snuck into my brain and I typed it out while the picture I created in my head was still there. This tots recipe harkens back to childhood comfort food, but is elevated to a more mature palate with the addition of gruyere cheese and the tartness the apples bring to the party.

Ingredients:
1 large apple {I used a honey crisp}, diced {yields about 2 cups}
1 cup gruyere cheese, shredded
1 cup bread crumbs
2 eggs
1 Tablespoon shallot, minced
Grated Parmesan cheese {about 1 Tablespoon}
Salt & Pepper

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Spray two {or one 24 count} mini muffin tins with non-stick cooking spray.

Toss all the ingredients together and mash into each mini muffin well. Top with cracked black pepper and a pinch of parmesan cheese. Bake at 400 degrees for 18 minutes until golden. Let cool and remove from muffin tins. Enjoy!

Apple Tots

Apple Tots

Apple Tots

Apple Tots with Gruyere

Leave a Reply

