White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies
White chocolate and macadamia nut are one of my fave cookies! I thought with the addition of food coloring, they would be perfect for Valentines Day, but you could also leave out the food coloring to make a more traditional cookie. Either way, they are very scrumptious.

I stumbled upon a few baking tips I had never seen before and wanted to incorporate them into this recipe. Hence, this recipe calls for egg whites, corn starch and white vinegar. The results were pleasing. The cookie baked puffy, yet dense and very moist. Although I will continue to tweak and experiment to find the ultimate chocolate chip cookie recipe, this one was a crowd pleaser!

Warning: you will ned to have a glass of cold milk handy when eating!

Igredients:
1 cup butter, at room temp
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon pink gel food coloring {optional}
1 egg
2 egg whites
2 teaspoons white vinegar
2 & 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
3 cups flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon corn starch
1 {12oz} bag white chocolate chips
1 cup macadamia nuts, coarsely chopped

*Cooks note: I added a second teaspoon of food coloring at the end of mixing and they turned out very hot pink, almost on the red end of the color spectrum. I would recommend using just one teaspoon of food coloring for a lighter pink hue.

Directions:
Preaheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
In a large bowl combine flour, baking soda, corn starch and salt and set aside.
Beat the butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add food coloring and mix well.
Add egg and egg whites one at a time until fully incorporated. Add vinegar, vanilla and almond extract.
Add dry ingredients a little at a time {in three or four parts} and mix until just blended.
By hand, mix in white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts.
Using a 1/2 cup ice cream scoop, scoop and drop dough onto the parchment lined baking sheet about 1 & 1/2″ apart from each other and the sides of the pan. Bake in preheated oven for about 15 minutes. Let stand pn pan after removing fromoven for about 5 minutes and then transefer to a wire rack for cooling.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

2 responses to “White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

  1. white chocolate chip macadamia nut is my very favorite cookie…I am always looking for a recipe that does it justice…the best one I have ever had was the first one I ever had and I have never been able to replicate or find them anywhere else unless we go back to Mississippi and find that little Restaurant and we have on occasion done so. Then I stock up..Today, I will go to the store and pick up the exact ingredients and try it your way and hope to have success. You have made me crave them badly. They look so close to the ones I fell in love with except they were not pink… I will let you know how they turn out. I will also take some to the Nursing home this evening for my sister-in-law who is in stage 4 Mellinoma and hopefully they will brighten her day some also.

    • Hi Ellen! Thanks for visiting! Were you able to bake the cookies…how did they turn out for you? God bless you and your sister-in-law!!!

      -Kerry

Leave a Reply

